RSS

“Islamic Studies” for Toddlers

09 Apr

“Islamic Studies” for Toddlers

For children at this age, a formal curriculum is, of course, not necessary.  We can teach our children now (and even until adulthood) about Islam naturally.  However , the following is an “outline” of things that I have found appropriate for my  toddlers throughout the years.  Of course, every child is different and it is advised not to push children. The following concepts can be taught to children in everyday living.  Toddlers will not totally understand the implications/meanings of such things as “Where is Allah?” but you can build the foundation for later, insha Allah.

18 months – 30 months or thereabouts

Aqeedah

(you can teach your child to respond with the appropriate answers by asking them the question, inflecting your voice at the end so they know it is a question, and then providing the answer. Repeat often (daily/weekly) and eventually as their speech grows, they can learn to answer the questions. Again, the understanding is not there, but you are building a foundation, insha Allah).

  • Where is Allah? (Arabic: Q: Ayn Allah?  A: Huwa fee samaa)

  • Who is your Lord?(Arabic: Q: Man Rabbuk?  A: Allahu Rabbee)

  • Who made you? (Arabic: Q: Man khalaqak  A: khalaqanee Allah)

                Talk with child about the things that Allah has made.  (i.e, What a pretty tree that Allah made)

(You might try teaching the above questions/answers in Arabic–see above)

Duaas/Sayings

 (teach naturally as the situation occurs by simply saying the duaas yourself and prompting your child to say them after you)

  •   When Waking Up

  •   When going to bed

  •   Before eating (bismillah)

  •   After eating

  •   When sneezing

  •   Greeting

  •   When it rains

                             

Quraan

  •  Listen to Quraan daily together

  •  Let children sit by you while you read/recite Quraan encouraging them to repeat after you

  •  Work on fatihah (even if just one ayaah)

Adab/Akhlaq (Etiquette/Manners/Morals)

  • Saying Shukran/Thank you

  • Eating and drinking with right hand

  • Teach child not to show private parts or let others look at them.

Only let siblings see them undressed if they take part in their care (diaper changing, toilet help) and only if absolutely necessary; teach them to always make sure they are covered and not naked during diaper changes/using the restroom longer than necessary.

Be sure to “praise” child when they share or do something nice. Make a big deal out of it. Tell them that Allah likes when they……..

 History/Seerah

List of some stories from the Quraan: http://talibiddeenjr.wordpress.com/2006/05/12/stories-from-the-quraan/

                 

Ibaadah

  • Let child see you pray and pray near you if interested (fortunately, kids often do this automatically, masha Allah)

  • Teach the etiquette of not walking in front of those who are praying

Do you have some special  activities that you do with your toddler? If so, please share!

 
 

22 responses to ““Islamic Studies” for Toddlers

  1. UmmKhadijah Na'imah

    April 13, 2007 at 2:50 am

    Assalamu alaykum,

    Masha’Allah ukhti just recieved a link for your web blog, didnt know you had one! Found some realy beneficial things on here including what you wrote above. Insha Allah will be checking back here often.
    May Allah reward you for your efforts, ameen.
    Wa salaamu alaykum.

     
  2. Amina B James

    November 11, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    assalamu alaykum mash’allah very helpful and informative. Jazaka Allah khire.
    asalamu alaykum

     
  3. Umm Abdul Fataah

    November 11, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    As salaamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatu, Alhamdulillah I have found this website very beneficial in homeschooling my 2 year old son Abdul Fataah. Allahu Akbar!

     
  4. MuslimFamilyToday.com

    January 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Mashallah. Very nice advice. I hope you dont mind if I link to it on the forum we are starting on this very topic.

    Maybe you will come and post a few things there too:D

    wasalaam

     
  5. talibiddeenjr

    January 12, 2008 at 6:46 am

    No problem to link. I am glad you find it beneficial, masha Allah.

     
  6. enji

    June 2, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    assalamualaikum
    hi. I come from indonesia
    my son, 2 years old will love your source
    thanks and keep teach us

     
  7. azeeza

    July 31, 2008 at 12:07 am

    mashallah,may allah rewar u 4 this amin.

     
  8. UmmeFareeha

    December 12, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Assalamu’ Alaikum Sister,

    Mashallah your site is the best islamic education site i found. I love this page. My daughter is only 16 months old but ma’shallah kids are so intelligent. Your site is definitely a keeper. May Allah (SWT) reward you abundantly for your great work. Ameen.

    Sincerely Yours,
    Sister in Islam

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      December 12, 2008 at 2:45 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      JazakAllahu kheyr. I am so happy that you find it helpful, masha Allah. Na’am, kids are so bright even at the younger ages, alhamdulillah. When she’s older, be sure to check out my main site if you haven’t (www.talibiddeenjr.com) as I have lots there too. (smile)

      Shukran for writing.

      Umm Ibrahim

       
  9. Umm-Zaynab Diab

    April 9, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Assalamu Alaykum,
    Would just like to share some activities I do with my almost 2 year old. Buy the large alphabet foam mat and spread on floor. Play ‘hop scoth’ by asking child to hop to ramdom letters. Say a word that starts with the letter as you go along (eg. sheen-shams). I made flannel boards to easier teach things like Allah’s creation eg. I got black flannel and said “long ago there was just darkness…….then Allah made the sky (I stick a sky on the board), He put the sun, moon etc (I stick as I go along) all the way to the earth, people etc. I did the same for teaching about prophet Nuh. I stuck a picture of an ark and all the animals and the foods they ate. I did one animal at a time as I narrated the story. I use both english and arabic vocab. I have lots of ideas but 1 more – I take the tunes of the common nursery rhymes and make my own poem to it. This i find an appealing way to teach them a lot of aqeedah topics eg. I took that silly ‘hokey pokey’ rhyme and I taught some names of Allah with it eg. “Allah is Al-Aleem, He knows everything….Alaah is Al-Baseer, He sees everything” etc

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      April 9, 2009 at 3:04 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Masha Allah, great ideas. I’ve always wanted to do flannel boards, but its kind of hard to find those types of things where I am. I can hear the Names of Allah to the hokey pokey in my head, neat! Thanks for sharing.

       
  10. ummzaid

    July 19, 2009 at 4:38 am

    assalamualaikum
    i feel like i have stumbled into treasure cave.jazakallah khair.only allah can reward you.can u pls ask umm zaynab diab to write the islamic nursery rhymes and how she made the flannel

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      July 19, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam.

      JazakAllahu kheyr.
      Insha Allah, I will email Umm Zaynab and ask her for you.

       
  11. Ummu husna

    December 30, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Assalamu’alaikum..

    Alhamdulillah, i’ve found this blog!. Insha Allah i’ll do those things to my 20 months daughter. Syukran, ukhti. May I translate it to indonesian and spread it out with this blog as the reference? I just want many more muslim child have this reference to be practiced. I’ll waiting 4 your reply..thank u..

    Wassalamu’alaikum..

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      December 30, 2009 at 10:24 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Yes, you can translate it, insha Allah.

      Glad you find it helpful, alhamdulillah.

       
  12. umm muath

    January 10, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Subhana Allah these are some great ideas and I will begin to incorporate them ASAP!..asking the questions in arabic is a great suggestion too…I am trying to begin homeschooling my 3 year old and I was browsing the internet for some ideas since this will be my first time!…May Allah reward you for all that you have provided in this blog as well as your site..ameen

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      January 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Masha Allah. I hope you find that you can use the ideas.

      JazakAllahu kheyr for your duaa!

       
  13. Umm Afraz

    April 16, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa Rahmathullahi wa Barakaathuhu.

    Masha Allah! Really good ideas! We already follow some of them (reciting adeyah, building up aadaab, and the 2 points of ‘ibaadah you mentioned). I have always thought of teaching him the Shahaadhah, and the Aqeedah points you mentioned, but my 2 year old doesn’t talk much, and I figured it won’t do much by me just ranting off. Insha Allah will try building the foundation as you suggested.

    BarakAllahu feek :)

    Wassalaau Alaikum wa Rahmathullahi wa Barakaathuhu.

     
  14. Fathima

    May 8, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Assalam Alaykum, just googled and ended up here… masha Allah lovely advice! :D Think I can incorporate it in my child’s life Insha Allah… :)

     
  15. Umm Mujaahid

    March 13, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum

    A comment was made that very children may not understand concepts like: “Where is Allaah”.

    May I correct that and say they indeed will. Not only that, since they are very close to the fitrah and with hearts that are pure and uncorrupted due to their young age, then they will not only understand the fundamentals of Tawhiid, but also they actually yearn to know them – in simple language of course – and you will find children have a fascination with their rabb Allaah, very naturally.

    This is not only from my experience of teaching Muslim children in an Islaamic school, and writing and publishing books for Muslim children, and writing and publishing artciles and stories for children on the internet, but also it is based on the Islaamic knowledge I have acquired which instructs mothers to teach their very young children the basic fundamentals of Tawhiid such as ‘Where is Allaah’ (wa huwa fawqa l-samaawaati; fawqa kulli shay’in).

    You will see the fascination and delight on a young Muslim child’s face when he/she is taught these beautiful truths. And you will see their absolute acceptance of them. And you will see a desire in them to want to develop the true iimaan (faith and creed) that Allaah has blessed every child to be born with.

    This is what you will normally see. Anyone who has expereinced otherwise, then it is an exception, not the norm.

    Hope you will find this helpful to your work.

    Wassalaam

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      April 30, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      I agree, my kids understand “Where is Allah?” Maybe I worded it wrong, I meant to say that I don’t think they truly understand some of the more abstract concepts of Tawheed, but this one in particular, I agree that they can, I’ve always started them around 18 months or so with this and they get that. We even get into a little bit of “Allah made me and this and that”, but I personally don’t think they really understand exactly who Allah is at this age, not like they understand say, family members. Just my personal belief…

       
  16. Sabiha Ameen

    April 23, 2011 at 4:06 am

    masha’Allah loved your blog!

    For adab/akhlaaq:
    -one thing we also teach our daughter (22 months old! masha’Allah) in regards to adab of books is to not walk over them or touch them with her feet. And if she does, then we tell her that we need to respect books and make her pick it up from the floor and kiss it.
    -We encourage her to wear her baby scarf when listening to Quran
    -Alhamdulillah have been training her to drink water while sitting.
    -discourage them from throwing away food and making them pick up tiny bits on the floor. this way they learn the value of food.
    -When she asks for something we tell her to make dua and first ask Allah for it. Alhamdulillah, she raises her cute lil hands and makes dua for it.

    Also there is a hadith about teaching them the kalimah “la ilaha illallah” first…especially when they start talking.

    Thats all I can think of for now. If I remember anything more, will post insha’Allah! Jazaakillah khayr for sharing this w/ us! May Allah reward you w/ pious and righteous children! ameen!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 737 other followers

