RSS

Islamic Studies for Younger Children

28 Dec

At young ages, most children are really interactive.  They can’t sit still for very long and have short attention spans.  Insha Allah I wouldn’t personally worry about too structured teaching at really young ages. One can teach his/her child very naturally about Islam.

Some ideas:

Teach duaas naturally. When you eat have him/her say Bismillah. When he/she goes to the bathroom have them say the duaa. Let them hear you say duaas throughout the day.  Sometimes they amazingly pick up duaas (and some quraan) without formal instruction, by hearing them repeatedly, consistently.

Teach simple adab/hygiene.  Eat with your right hand.  Make istinja after using the bathroom, etc. From experience, I have learned that it is easier to teach these skills while they are young. When they are older, they get set in their ways and it is more difficult to correct “bad” habits.

Children love to be read to. Read the Quraan, Stories of the Prophets, ahadith and talk about what they mean.  Ask them questions about what you read. Answer their questions.  Try to paint pictures in their heads about what you are reading.

Teach them basic aqeedah.  At 18 months I started teaching my youngest daughter and now my youngest son to respond to “Ayn Allah?” Where is Allah. Of course they don’t really  understand the meaning at this point, but when I ask him where Allah is, he points to the sky (well, if he is laying down he may point off to the side, but the foundation is being set for when he is older, insha Allah.

Just take your daily routines and remember Allah much and teach them how to do things Islamically.  Explain why you do this and that.  (e.g. We start putting on our shoes, brush our hair with the right because the Prophet (salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam) did this.  When you see them eating with their left hand, respond with the quraan or ahadith, like, ash- shaytaan yakul bis shamail. The shaytaan eats with his left).

Those are just some of the ideas that I had. Life is full of lots of “teachable” moments that don’t require worksheets and textbooks.  Take advantage of them! (I am saying that to remind myself as  well).

I have lots of posters and printables for Islamic Studies for older children at http://talibiddeenjrtoo.amanahwebs.com/is_home.htm

 
15 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2006 in Islamic Studies: Younger Kids

 

15 responses to “Islamic Studies for Younger Children

  1. Haq Islam

    March 27, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Mashallah a very good blog, Please take a look at Haq Islam site and link it up here if you think it of benefit.
    Wasalam

     
  2. Amina Saleem

    December 30, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Salam

    Jazakumallah kulul jaza wa yjalahu fi mizani hasnatikum inshlallah
    for creating this great website, I have just started weekend school it help me a lot in setting up lesson plan, as I luck teaching skills & help me to be more interactive in teaching islam. Ihope for more lesson plan for kindergarten & elemntery leve in Seera & Aqeedah with worksheet
    jazakum Allah

    Amina ( umYousof)
    Bahrain

     
  3. Umm Fatima

    March 25, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Salam Alaykum

    Masha’allah a well organized blog. Keep up the great work. We are also in Yemen, Tarim Hadramout. It would be nice to see u one day

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      March 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Masha Allah. Thanks for the comment. I was hoping it wasn’t too “all over the place” sometimes I just get to posting and may not categorize things quite so efficiently. How’s the homeschooling going down there? I don’t know much about that area (basically any area outside of Sana’a). How do you like it down there?

       
  4. Nanizakri

    April 24, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Assalamualaikum TJ,

    your blog and website are excellent! I wonder how you have the time to do all these work plus homeschooling your children and managing the household chores?? I have a helper at home but still finding it difficult to manage…

    Keep up the great work!
    Nani

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 12, 2009 at 11:45 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      This reply is super late. Thanks for letting me know you find the resources helpful. Of course, I can never fit everything in everyday, lol, trust me, its a struggle. But I love to share what I have made with others in case it will be a time saver for them. Plus, the computer and creating things is an outlet for me (my “me” time) so I am just a busy bee (as we all really are). Plus, I have some great help in my oldest kids (well, ok, they are kids so they are not perfect, but truly blessings, masha Allah as they do a great job helping out with the younger ones).

      Again, sorry for taking so long to reply, but I appreciate you taking the time to write! ——-Umm Ibrahim

       
  5. nahid

    August 19, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Assalam alaykum,
    mashallah, i am really impressed .After looking at your website i also decided to do homeschooling when my kids will start going to big grades inshaallah because here in western country we really need something like this so we could save our children from all fitnahs inshaallah.
    Again jazakallah khair
    Nahid
    canada

     
  6. Nazli

    October 12, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmathullahi wa barakaathuhu,

    I run a small Madrasa in Colombo Sri Lanka, I’ve used loads of your ideas to teach Islam and Quran to the kids in my class. JazaakAllah Khair, u have made my work so easy and so enjoyable for the kids. Ive also made my own worksheets on Tajweed and arabic letters. If you wish to i could share them with you. After all Islam is for the whole world…

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 12, 2009 at 11:40 am

      wa alaykum us salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

      Masha Allah, I am happy that you find the ideas and resources helpful, masha Allah. BarakAllahu feek. I would love to see the worksheets you have and possible add them to the main site as these types of resources that you speak about are in high demand. Please send them to my email address (talibiddeenjrATgmail.com). Also, please let me know (if you authorize the use on the site) what you would like me to sign your name as (name, kunya, etc).

       
  7. Sulayman

    February 11, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Jazakom allah khairan. This is very helpfull.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

      wa yakum. Alhamdulillah.

       
  8. Bothina Elsaleh

    April 6, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Asalamu Alikum , Masha Allah your website and blog is amazing ,Baraka Allah Feekum ,
    am an Islamic teacher in a school her kids dose not know anything about thier deen and I teach elementry school and my students are from so many nationality. I was work so hard to to make my kids at school be a good by as you said and try to make thier lettle mind and heart full in Love with Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta3alla and our Prophet Muhammad (peace and bleesing be upon him)ans as my calssroom is in the mosque they are aleady now know the enter duaa and the exit duaa for the masjed and we dont say the word mosque but we say Masjed and they noe start to remind each other to start putting thier shose with the right leg.and we do try so many times to make Salat Althuher in Jmamaa to gother.tell now am wal hamdulallah so broud of them and am alwayes thank Allah to but me in this school.

     
  9. defiana dien

    January 5, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Asslkm. I am teacher from Indonesia.Your website and blog is amazing.Jazakumullah khairan katsira.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      February 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Alhamdulillah, glad you like it. Thanks for letting me know!

       
  10. Houda

    September 20, 2012 at 5:01 am

    Best Islamic website for teaching! mashaAllah absolutely outstanding! You cover everything..
    MayAllah swt reward you immensely. We have began teaching at a weekend school and I had lost motivation because my “teaching skills” needed brushing up and I needed guides to help me pull thru…coming to this website has re energised me and I cant wait to teach the children today!!!! 😀 JAK! so happy! alhamdulilahhhhh

     
 
