RSS

Sweet and Sour Hot Dogs

02 Jun

Sweet and Sour Hot Dogs

 

Ok, not particularly related to homeschooling unless you count it as home ec or just as a resource for the busy homeschooling mom. This is what we had today, and I just thought I would share it as it is relatively quick and easy and my kids like it.

 

We eat a lot of hot dogs, mostly on hot dog buns so I wanted to try something different. I use to make this from time to time in the states.

 

I looked online for some recipes but I couldn’t find one that was really how I used to make them so I improvised a little. You may seem some non-exact quantities, I kind of just put in this and that as a result of “years” of cooking, I guess.

 

Well anyway, here’s my recipe and a little commentary. I will try to throw in a little Arabic (its English transliteration) here and there.

 

Ingredients (makunaat)

 

1 can (kas) pineapple (ananas)

2 tablespoons (mil’aqah kabeer) butter (zubdah) or margarine

 

1/2 cup (nisf (1/2) koob- cup ) onion (basal) chopped

 

1 green pepper (beeber), chopped or cut into strips (I used about 1/2, I’m frugal)

 

1-2 tablespoons sugar (sukkar), the recipe called for brown sugar, but I didn’t have it on hand.

 

Salt (milh), to taste

 

Ketchup. Okay, this is very inexact. I had a 890 gram bottle that was like a quarter full, so I used that and diluted it.

 

4-10 hot dogs, cut into slices (The original recipe called for 4 but I have a lot of greedy mouths to feed, so I used a whole pack of ten).

 

Cornstarch, about 2 tablespoons. I didn’t have this on hand, but this makes the sauce thicker.

 

Hot, cooked, rice (ruz). If you want a recipe for this, see TJ’s Around the House -In the Kitchen – Recipes. This is how many in the Middle East prepare rice. It is eaten here, usually with the fingers and so it is not made sticky. I remember when we were in Egypt a sister commented on my mushy rice, lol. Here, it is made usually by sautéing the rice in butter, then adding water and salt to it then cooking it, as opposed to putting it in boiling water, I think the latter method makes it mushy.

 

Method of Preparation

 

  1. In a skillet, over low heat, melt the butter. Add onion and green pepper, cook until onion is tender.
  2. At this point, I added ketchup and diluted with water (about enough to make half a skillet of liquid), then I remembered I had the pineapple juice, so I added that then.
  3. Add sugar, salt. At this point, you could add the cornstarch to the sugar, salt and use a little liquid from the skillet to mix up the cornstarch, then add to the skillet.
  4. Add cut up hotdogs and pineapple pieces. Heat through.
  5. Serve over cooked rice.

     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2007 in Household: Recipes

 

One response to “Sweet and Sour Hot Dogs

  1. Tammi Derwin

    May 9, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I love the article. It looks delicious. Kudos!

     
 
