RSS

Whiteboard Trick

22 Jul

Whiteboards are so helpful for homeschooling. I absolutely love them.

 

I’ve used them for writing down our schedules, introducing concepts to the kids, and having the kids do their work on them.

 

But sometimes when we write on them we need some stuff to “stay put.” For example, when we practice writing English or Arabic letters and I write the guide lines, well they can get erased. Or I might have a daily assignment schedule with squares and perhaps the content in the squares changes and I don’t want to redraw the squares everyday. One trick that I came up with was to put scotch tape over the lines and parts that I wanted to stay. So when the kid are practicing writing their letters, the guide lines stay put or I don’t have to redraw the lines for our daily assignments.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2007 in Teaching Tips

 

2 responses to “Whiteboard Trick

  1. TheLadyOfTheHouse

    July 23, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Maa shaa Allah… have you discovered any way to get erasable marker to wash out of clothes or carpets though? I like using the white board until somebody dots or streaks their clothing with it, and I haven’t found anything that takes it out– seems to be permanent. 😦

     
  2. talibiddeenjr

    July 23, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Na’am, well, not sure about clothing, but you might try something like WD40 (lubricant in a spray can) that is used to oil hair clippers, get rid of door squeaks, etc. It is wonderful for getting crayon off walls, whiteout out of carpet. I tried it on erasable marker before and it worked with one stain on the wall before, however it did not work on a second erasable marker stain, maybe it had been there too long????? We’re finding out it has lots uses for other than what I had originally bought it for, so much that we consider it a cleaner now, lol…..

     
 
