RSS

Zucchini Frittata

11 Apr

Zucchini Frittata (in muffin pan)

My mother used to make this when I was little. I had been wanting to make this for quite some time, but after six years abroad, I am just now finding grated Parmesan Cheese in the store. So when I found it the other day, this was one of the first things I thought of making.

This recipe is a combination of two recipes that I found online. I remember that my mom baked hers so I wanted to bake mine, but I found another one that was skillet and broiler made that I wanted to try, so I just combined the two.

Surprisingly, it was a winner with everyone, even the picky ones and it’s a great way to sneak veggies in. We had it for breakfast with fruit. I didn’t have a round tin pan so I just put them in square shaped muffin pans.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil (zeyt zeytun)
1 onion, diced (basal)

2 to 3 small zucchinis (koosah)
5 eggs (beydh) (original recipes called for 5/6 eggs, I used 10 eggs since there’s a lot of us)

8 to 10 large basil leaves (rayhaan) (I just used dried basil)

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (I used dried parsley)

½ – ¾ cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup plain flour (tahin or daqeeq), sifted
1 tsp salt (milh)
Freshly ground black pepper (Again, I didn’t use fresh)

Preparation:

  1. Coarsely grate enough of the zucchini to make 2 1/2 cups and place it in a medium-size mixing bowl. Lightly salt the zucchini and toss it gently to season it evenly. Let it set for 10 minutes, then use clean hands to squeeze the zucchini, pressing out the excess water.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs until they are evenly blended. Whisk in the flour, basil, parsley, about half of the Parmesan, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Set the mixture aside.
  3. Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat, add the onion and zucchini. Cook, stirring frequently for 7-8 minutes until soft but not golden. Remove from pan.
  4. Whisk the egg mixture again, then slowly pour it over the vegetables, and mix together. Season with pepper.
  5. Pour mixture into a tin pan (I used muffin cups and filled 12 cups).
  6. Sprinkle remaining Parmesan cheese on top.
  7. Bake until lightly golden and set. (The recipe said one hour but I found out it was set after like 30 minutes or so). Recipe says to cook at 180C, my oven doesn’t have degree markings (or any for that matter) so I had it on the highest setting, but I would recommend cooking it at a med high level.

The original recipes can be found here:

http://jas.familyfun.go.com/recipefinder/display?id=50397

http://au.lifestyle.yahoo.com/b/better-homes-gardens/2333/baked-zucchini-frittata

 
Comments Off on Zucchini Frittata

Posted by on April 11, 2008 in Household: Recipes

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
