RSS

Taco Salad

12 Apr

We seemed to be in the cooking mode this Jumuah. We started the day making zucchini frittata (previous post), my 12 year old made chocolate chip cookies (big thing as we recently found chocolate chips for the first time here) and for dinner we made taco salad. I think that I have run across some taco sauce here once, but as I didn’t have any on hand, I tried looking up recipes. Most were for sauces that you had to cook/stew, and of course, didn’t have time for that, so I made up my own, loosely based upon those. I guess in actuality its more like salsa. I also didn’t have taco seasoning mix so we made our own as well.

Taco Salad

1 lb ground beef (lahm mafroom)

1 pk taco seasoning (or desired spices)

corn chips

lettuce (khass)

tomatoes (tamatam)

onions (basal)

black olives

cheddar cheese

  1. Brown the beef and drain.
  2. Add seasoning and add ½ C water, cook until dry.
  3. Layer corn chips, meat, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, black olives, and cheddar cheese. (I was able to get 3 layers from a 10 oz. bag of Tostitos)
  4. Top with cheese.
  5. Serve with salsa, guacamole, refried beans, and sour cream as toppings.

Recipe: Sister Saidah (who has donated loads of “Around the World” recipes to TJ’s sister site: Towards An Orderly Muslim Home. (I’ve only added just a fraction of the recipes to date) so keep checking back.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

1 tsp salt

1 tsp chili powder (didn’t have this on hand, so didn’t use this)

1/2 tsp corn starch (didn’t have this on hand, so didn’t use it)

1/4 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp cumin

2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp sugar

This was not enough for us so we doubled the recipe (made another batch). You may find that you need to tweak some of the amounts of ingredients to your own taste.

According to many online recipes that I found, 3 Tablespoons of homemade mix ~ 1/4 ounce pack of commercial mix.

Homemade Taco Sauce/Salsa
2 tomatoes, diced (tamatam)
half small onion, diced (basal)
garlic powder (mashuq al thoom)
2 tsp cumin (kummin)
2 tsp vinegar (khall)
1/4 tsp sugar (sukkar)
salt to taste
Combine ingredients in food processor and blend.
Note: I also added a veggie Maggi cube, but it is optional.
 
Comments Off on Taco Salad

Posted by on April 12, 2008 in Household: Recipes

 

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

 
