RSS

Multiplication File Folder Games/Multiplication Lapbooks

23 Apr

UPDATE: I have finally finished the set and you can download the x2s – x12s here: http://tjmathematics.blogspot.com/2013/02/multiplication-file-folder-games.html) as well as a division set here: http://tjmathematics.blogspot.com/2013/02/division-facts-file-folder-set.html

Well, my third grader is working on memorizing his multiplication facts and I wanted some little activities other than drill sheets.

Below are some printables for practicing the math facts that we have made. My 12 year old daughter and I brainstormed themes for the different times tables and she is the designer/creator of these printables (she’s more artistic than I am). So this is her project this week and I will be adding on printables for the different tables (x3, x4, etc) as she completes them, insha Allah.

They can be made for file folder games or possibly compiled into one book for a lapbook.

These will eventually end up on the main TJ site, insha Allah.

x3 Tables – Pizza Theme

x4 Tables – Shirts/Hangers

x5 Tables – Mittens and Hands

x6s Tables- Soup/Soup Spoons

x7s Tables – Candy/Candy Jar

x8 Tables – Octopus (defaced)/Cave

x9 Tables – Open Book/Bookmark

Once they are all complete, I am planning on putting them in one book so they will be handy insha Allah.

If you are looking for other ideas for using them, other than just matching, you might try placing the unmounted pieces in a tic tac toe board or bingo and playing those games with them or get a board game template and make some sort of board game.

For the lapbook/file folders, I would also suggest varying the parts that are mounted, sometimes mount the answer, sometimes mount the question.

 
 

Tags: , ,

19 responses to “Multiplication File Folder Games/Multiplication Lapbooks

  1. val james

    January 20, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Great ideas, wish the full set was posted, any chance of sending me numbers 2, 8, and 9 so I have a complete set? Thank you very much

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      January 21, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      My computer died last summer before I got a chance to finish them. I’ve got some who are working on memorization still so I hope to complete those soon and post them. Thanks for letting me know there is an interest, that might push me to finish them!

       
      • Christine

        June 28, 2011 at 9:48 pm

        Definitely an interest! What a great idea that I will adapt to use in my third grade classroom. Thank you!

         
      • talibiddeenjr

        November 15, 2012 at 4:47 am

        Sorry so late on the reply. You’re welcome. Hope you were able to use them 😉

         
  2. Evelyn Saenz

    January 29, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    What a wonderful way to practice multiplication facts. Your daughter is very artistic. Her simple designs create interest while keeping the focus on the task of matching the multiplication facts.

    I have been working on a Unit Study on River Otters and one of the literary connections has the River Otters eating Hot Root Soup. I am hoping that you don’t mind that I have linked this blog to my River Otters Unit Study at http://www.squidoo.com/riverotters.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      January 31, 2009 at 12:01 pm

      Yes, she is my “creative consultant!” She really has an eye for design and colors, which helps me a lot.

      Don’t mind at all that you linked to it. Glad you find it helpful!

       
  3. Shannon

    February 3, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    These are wonderful. I would like to make some of my own file folder games but as far as templates and such I can not figure out how to make my own and I would like to do it for free or as cheap as possible. Does anyone have any suggestion or can you share how you have made yours?

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      February 4, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      I’m happy that you like them. Thanks for taking the time to let me know.

      For those, I didn’t use templates, but just used clip art and coloring pages. My daughter colored the coloring pages in in Microsoft Paint.

      Hope that’s helpful.

       
  4. Dana

    March 24, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Wow! I love these! I was looking for some file folder games for my 3rd grade daughter and these will be perfect. Thanks – to you and your daughter!

     
  5. jessica young

    September 23, 2009 at 9:47 am

    hello

    my name is Jessica

    i am 9 years old and i really like the math time tables{hands and mittens, t-shirt and hanger, soup bowl and spoon}

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 2, 2009 at 2:37 pm

      Hi Jessica,

      Glad you like them. Thank you for writing and letting me know!

       
  6. karen m

    September 26, 2009 at 2:02 am

    Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful learning games. I greatly appreciate your talent and generosity–and my son is hanging over my shoulder, very much looking forward to playing these games. Hooray!

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 2, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      You’re welcome! Hoped your son enjoyed them!

       
  7. Jennifer

    December 9, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Hi, I just came upon your site well trying to find help making multiplication more fun for my daughter. Your games are very neat, by any chance do you have the 8&9 somewhere on the blog? Thank you for your help.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      December 10, 2010 at 7:06 am

      No, I never got around to making them. I need to as I still have some that haven’t memorized them yet, so I hope to finish them in the near future.

       
  8. Heather

    November 14, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    I love this and would love to use them with my students. Do you have any recommendations on how I can open them with my Apple computer. I downloaded them but they did not show up right. Thank you

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      November 15, 2012 at 4:46 am

      I’m sorry, I have no clue how to make them show up right on an Apple 😦

       
  9. terra deloach

    February 24, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    Wondering if you could post or email me 8 and 9. I have a son with autism and having to make resources for him for his class. your sight has made a big difference for him. He may pass his CRCT. Thanks so much for sharing.

     
 
