RSS

TJ Preschool Curriculum

07 Oct

As I mentioned in a previous post, my three year old is now eager to “do school.” I was doing classes with the older ones and he sat down in front of me with a notebook and pencil and said, “teach me something.” 

So I am setting up a little curriculum for him.  I don’t feel a strict, formal curriculum is generally necessary, but because I have a lot of kids to teach, I wanted to be sure to get his time in and felt I could better do that, Allahu ilm, by planning out activities. Up to now I have just been doing stuff on the fly with him.

So, in hopes that it will be of benefit to others, I will post our curriculum here, insha Allah. I’ve planned about six weeks work and subjects like language and fine and gross motor skills will most likely just repeat after some time.

I prepared the curriculum from the following two resources:

 http://www.worldbook.com/wb/Students?curriculum/preschool

http://www.preschooleducation.com/tcheck3.shtml

A good deal of the activities are basic and won’t require any or too much prep.

To cut down on repeated prep, I highly recommend making learning file folders. What I do is just take worksheets and cut them up, laminate them and attach them to file folders. So if we are doing “more or less” I have a file folder all ready to go with that. And if I find more activities, I just add file folders onto the current ones. I like this idea because worksheets tend to be more monotonous, but it seems like the file folder activities are more engaging and re-do-able. (ok, you can put worksheets in page protectors too for repeated use).

Right now, I have the following areas: Language, Math, Fine Motor Skills, Gross Motor Skills, Science, and Social Skills. My plan is to incorporate Islamic Studies in these areas to give a more natural approach, so we’ll see how that goes. (i.e. find ways to talk about Allah, His Creations, etc in the topics we cover in those areas–). You could also infuse Arabic in by naming the Arabic terms for things as well, but I’ll probably do that sparingly I am thinking for now.

So, insha Allah, I’ll roll out the first week at least in this session. I will provide links to resources as well. In addition, I will try to make little explanation notes to show how we’ll expand on certain topics, insha Allah.

I hope to eventually turn this into a book for easier use, insha Allah.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “TJ Preschool Curriculum

  1. bunda

    February 13, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    assalamualaykum warahmatullaah..

    Hi there,,i come from indonesia n also have a 3yearsold son.. Recently i make a plan to start homeschooling for him..hope it wasnt too late 🙂

    anw, Jazakillaah khairan..ur web so full of information that im looking for.

    Bunda Tsabit (umm Tsabit;bunda=umm in arabic)

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      February 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

      No, I wouldn’t say it is too late, he is still really young. In fact, you are a couple of years earlier than when I started.

      I am so happy you find the website/blog so helpful. Ma sha’ Allah. Thanks for taking the time to let me know.

       
 
