RSS

Preschool Curriculum – Week 1 – Revised

08 Oct

I updated Week 1’s schedule.  I’ve cut down the days to five; it was originally six days as that is what the big kids do, but since he’s younger five days is probably better; and the schedule is in table form with notes and more links following the table.

 

 

 

Week 1

 

Daily Skills Review:(can be done all at once in a little morning meeting, or do the math concepts at math time, the language ones at language, etc).

 

·     Say bismillah before we start

·     Respond to the Islamic Greeting

·     Rote count to  target number

·     Count a few candies, toys, etc

·     Talk about the weather (or its pretty much the same here year around, but…..) Is it sunny? cloudy? rainy?

·     Says name, first and last

·     says age

·     says gender (boy/girl) and genders or other family members

·     says the names of his family members and their genders

·     note the time of day (usually will be morning), I might ask him do we go to sleep in the morning or evening, etc.

-Quick shapes review

 

 

Basically add on any concepts that you feel should be reviewed daily.

 

Day #

Language

Math

Fine Motor

Gross Motor

Science

1

Name concrete objects in rooms around the house or outside

 

Name recognition activities*

 

 

Number Sense: the Number 1

 

Number Sense: more/less

Copy lines (horizontal, diagonal, vertical)

Play Simon Says using activities such as jumping, hopping, etc.

 

Play Hokey Pokey

 

2

Name pictures of common objects (flashcards or in books)

 

 

Name recognition activities*

 

 

 

Number Sense: the Number 1

 

Geometry: Shapes

Lace sequences of holes

Stair walking

(of up to 8 steps, one step per tread)

Raising Rising Experiment

3

 

Name plural forms of things.

(i.e. dogs, cats, mice, books, etc)

 

Name recognition activities*

 

 

 

 

Number Sense: the Number 1

 

Spatial Sense: Positions

Use scissors (cut along lines or free cutting)

Bean Bag Toss (throw bean bag into at least an 8 inch diameter target from up to five feet away)

 

More fun: Make the bean bag yourselves.

 

4

Name uses of items

 

Name recognition activities*

 

 

Number Sense: the Number 1

 

Measurement: big/little

Coloring- free

“Basket”ball

Throw beach ball or other ball into a basket, box, etc. Vary the distance.

 

5

 

Name articles of clothing

 

 

 

Name recognition activities*

 

 

Number Sense: the Number 1

 

Algebra: sort objectsaround the house by size, shapes, color

Pour rice, sand, or water

Rolling a ball. Roll back and forth to each other. Include older kids as well.

Mini Ocean experiment

Additional Resources/Notes:

Language Arts

*Name Recognition Activities (Do Daily):

 

Math

**Number Sense

Number Activities (done daily)

Numbers: This is really dependent on the child so its hard to say, ok, week 1, we’ll learn the number one, week 2, the number 2. So put number sense number activities in daily, if possible,  but work at student’s pace.  For each number the following concepts can taught or activties done:

  • Naming the number
  • Recognition of number (e.g, in a line of numbers, pick out the number one)
  • Counting sets of that number
  • Making sets of that number
  • Writing that number
  • Counting up to that number
  • Ordering numbers (once more numbers are taught)
  • Comparing two numbers (which one is smaller/larger)

Each day, do as many of the following activities as are appropriate or as much as child’s interest/attention span is held.

More or Less

Worksheets (below) from Kids Zone: (I suggest, cutting them into strips, laminating them and attaching to a file folder to make this a repeated activity).

More or Less Shapes Comparisons More or Less Shapes Comparisons More or Less
Comparisons
More or Less
Comparisons

Big/little

Geometry:

This week, introduce/review the circle. Have child ID circles in nature, in worksheets, or file folder games, have student trace around circular objects, trace circles on paper, board, etc.

Spatial Sense:

Positions

Student tells where objects are (over, under, top, bottom, beside, inside, outside)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2008 in Preschool-Islamic

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Preschool Curriculum – Week 1 – Revised

  1. mathconfused

    December 10, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I was just wondering about preschool math and it looks like you are being very thorough. Is this original work? Are you working from a published curriculum?

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      December 11, 2008 at 10:50 am

      What I did was take a couple of preschool skills checklists and pulled items off of those and just made up a sort of schedule for it on my own. My son is not really into “school” so much yet at age 3 (and I don’t try to push him) but when we have learning sessions I do want to try to be consistent because I see that it really helps with my older children. And though the schedule might seem rigid, its just a guide. We don’t do everything all the time but it helps me remember what I want to try to focus on and again, to help me be consistent. With my older children, I find that if we don’t have a lot of repetition, they forget things very easily so I like to have a routine that I follow in each learning session that they can become used to and that can help me remember to review things.

      Most of the activities listed are really short and not “super academic-y”, its not like we sit for a predetermined amount of time. I introduce an activity and we do it and that’s that or I try to weave a concept into a fun, quick activity. My son is not really ready for a super structured program, but I think routines are very helpful for the times when we do sit down and do something.

      I agree with what you say on your blog, that it is good to focus on everyday math and incorporate math into daily life and activities and I try not to get too structured with my little one at this age because as you say, I don’t want to bore him. I have six other kids that I homeschool and I don’t spend as much time with him as I would like to so I try put together the little curriculum so I can make sure to give him some quality time too. At his age, the learning is more playful so I don’t want to give the impression that it is superstructured, though it may look like that on “paper.”

       
    • talibiddeenjr

      December 11, 2008 at 11:52 am

      I also just stumbled upon this while looking for something else:
      Some math concepts that children between the ages of 3 and 4 typically learn:
      http://www.pbs.org/parents/childdevelopmenttracker/three/mathematics.html

       
 
