RSS

Correction to TJ’s Eating Etiquette Guide

25 Jan

It was recently brought to my attention that a hadith in the Eating Etiquette Guide from TJ has a typo.

On Page 5, it incorrectly reads:

Narrated By Umayyah Ibn Makhshi:
Umayyah was sitting and a man was eating. He did not mention Allah’s name until there
remained the last morsel. When he raised it to his mouth, he said: In the name of Allah at
the beginning and at the end of it. The Prophet (salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam) kept eating
along with him, but when he mentioned Allah’s name, he vomited what was in his belly.

The correct hadith  should be:
Narrated Umayyah ibn Makhshi:

Umayyah was sitting and a man was eating. He did not mention Allah’s name until there remained the last morsel. When he raised it to his mouth, he said: In the name of Allah at the beginning and at the end of it. The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) laughed and said: The devil kept eating along with him, but when he mentioned Allah’s name, he vomited what was in his belly.

(The incorrect version reads as if the Prophet (salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam vomited instead of shaytan!).

 

The hadith is correctly written on page 4, insha Allah.

I truly apologize for this mistake and ask Allah to forgive me. I will make a note of this on the page it appears, insha Allah and will work to correct the error as soon as I can.

 
 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Correction to TJ’s Eating Etiquette Guide

  1. American Muslima Writer

    January 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Ya Allah what a big error! I’m laughing not at the error but what a big difference a few words missing means.
    I read the first one and my eyes bulged thinking the Prophet spat it out and was like WHAT!? then reading the correction I Laughed, enjoying Shaytan puking his guts out instead.
    Alhamdulillah you caught the error and corrected it!

    Also:
    Assalamu Alikum dear Sister in Islam!
    You’ve been added to ALL MUSLIMAH database of Muslimah Sister’s blogs!
    http://allmuslimah.blogspot.com/
    Please come and choose what category you’d like your blog name to appear under.
    If the category isn’t there, suggest one!
    If you’ve been placed in the wrong category by mistake please let me know immediately  Be sure to add the “I support ALL MUSLIMAH blogs” icon to your blog so others can find you. Thank you for having a blog!
    Category MUSLIMAH Homeschooling
    Also I added your Resource page too.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      January 31, 2009 at 11:58 am

      Na’am. It makes a big difference. Not sure how I got it right in one place and not the other.
      Actually someone pointed that out to me, masha Allah.

      Shukran for adding me. Will stop by and check it out, insha Allah.

       
 
