RSS

Celebrating Mawlid An Nabi (The birthday of the Prophet [salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam])

05 Mar

This subject had come up recently (with this date approaching) and just thought I would share some fatawa regarding the issue (that this is an innovation to celebrate this).  It is celebrated in many Muslim countries.

 

http://www.fatwa-online.com/innovations/celebrations/cel001/index.htm

 

Also, here is an article that I stumbled upon:

Meeladun Nabi- The Facts

 
 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Celebrating Mawlid An Nabi (The birthday of the Prophet [salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam])

  1. Eva Zaynab Rahman

    June 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Alhamdullilah , alhamdulliah, yes it is celebarted in the vats majority of coutnries, apart from saudi Arabia.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      August 31, 2010 at 6:27 am

      As salaamu alaykum ukhti,

      I appreciate you taking the time to write and express your opinions, but I regret to inform you, that I chose not to post them. I just did not feel that you had compelling evidence to substantiate the celebrating of this event. There is no evidence that I am aware of (and I am certainly not a scholar) to suggest that this was a practice in the time of the Prophet (salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam) or of the Companions.

      You mentioned that you celebrate it like an Eid, but I have only seen evidence where the Prophet (salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam) said there were only two Eid (Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha).

      What is even the purpose of celebrating this? I don’t understand. If you want to love and honor the Prophet as you mentioned, salla Allahu alayhi wa sallam, why not make duaa for him? Why not follow HIS sunnah? The only mention I know of his birthday, is that he wept and fasted on it.

      Those are just my thoughts. If anyone has saheeh evidence of celebrating this, then I invite you to share it. I just didn’t see any solid evidence in your arguments, ukhti.

       
 
