RSS

Homeschool Organization: Using headings

14 May

Homeschool Helps Tips: Organization Tip # 2: Paper Headings

A little “school-y” perhaps, but I find great benefits in having the kids head their papers.

It helps them learn to follow directions, helps keep their papers organized (they can find specific work easier) and builds a skill that they can use if they go on to college or even school where headings will be required in work that they turn in.

Other Skills that can be sharpened with the use of headings

In addition, by writing daily headings students can learn:

to write and recognize their name more quickly,

the names of the days of the week and months and how to spell them without a lot of formal instruction

 

 

key vocabulary related to classes such as subject names, pretest, test, quiz, etc.

 

Some tips:

1. Develop a basic format for your heading. Try to keep it the same (as much as possible) from class to class to make it easier to remember.

2. Post a poster size copy of your heading format(s) on the wall so your students can refer to it(them).

3. Be a stickler about having them write headings AND having them write the headings correctly. If you do grades, you might take off a point or two to drive the point home that this is something important.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2009 in Homeschool Management

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Homeschool Organization: Using headings

  1. Dan Hite

    May 16, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I was happy to discover your Talibiddeen Jr. Companion blog today. I was unable to find a contact link in your blog. I hope it’s OK that I’m contacting you through a public comment. I’ve developed an educational program for Windows called SpellQuizzer that helps children learn their spelling and vocabulary words without the battle that parents often have getting them to sit down and write them out while the parents dictate to them. The parent enters the child’s spelling words into the software making a sound recording of each word. Then the software helps the child practice his or her words. It really helped my children with their weekly spelling lists.

    I would appreciate your reviewing SpellQuizzer in Talibiddeen Jr. Companion. You can learn more about the program at http://www.SpellQuizzer.com. There’s a video demo you can watch at http://www.spellquizzer.com/SpellQuizzer-Demo.htm. Finally, there’s a page targeted to homeschooling families at http://www.spellquizzer.com/spelling-software-for-homeschoolers.htm. I’d be happy to send you a complimentary license for the software. Please let me know if you are interested.

    Thank you very much!

    Dan Hite
    TedCo Software
    Dan@SpellQuizzer.com

     
  2. ummaslam

    May 17, 2009 at 11:58 am

    As Salaamu Alaikum
    I also instill doing heading with my children as well,my son becomes so anoyed with it because I will send him back to correct his name or date subeject and so forth . I will also take points off if it’s not completed or done neatly . Great post I love all your sites masha Allah may Allah continue to bless you and your family Ameen

     
  3. Home Schooling US

    May 27, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I really liked the Tip # 2, I think its great to paste it on the wall at a place where they are bound to see it.

    Thanks for your great tips.

     
 
