RSS

What is a Jinn? Lessons on Jinns

23 Oct

fireSeveral weeks ago, we did an impromptu lesson on Jinns.  Through one of my homeschooling groups, I learned about a great site with authentic articles and treatises which I think is perfect to use as source material for your homemade homeschooling lessons: http://abdurrahman.org/character/index-shytaan.html (this is the main page for works regarding Jinns/Shayateen.

As I said, this wasn’t a planned lesson that we did, so I just got some of the articles from the site and started reading them to the kids.  As I went through, I jotted down points that I made (so that I could go back and review them). I am learning more and more, insha Allah that sometimes you just have to forego the fancy lesson plans and worksheets that you don’t have the time to make and tell yourself just do it,  just pick up a book, article and read it and see where it takes you.

After the lesson, I decided to make up some more structured lessons and insha Allah, the next time around we’ll use those.  I took some of the things that we had gone over, some of the impromptu activities that we had done and added some ideas that I thought would have been great to do as well.

One thing I have learned is that the longer I homeschool, better I get at giving impromptu lessons, masha Allah.  Instead of just reading the article, I may stop and think, hey, we can make up a little chart or brainstorm more on this and we go at it, so its not just me reading. Another helpful thing, which I am sure most of us do anyway, is to stop and make sure that they comprehend what’s just been said.  When we get to a little break in the material, before going on to the next section, I take a few seconds to review concepts from not just the last section, but preceeding sections.

So if you are feeling that you have to have everything planned out, and yes that’s a great thing to do, don’t panic if you are unprepared, make the best of it, but do try to do something.  I look back at all the times I could have at least done something, but didn’t because I wasn’t prepared.  My advice to others, and myself, is that even if its just reviewing something from previous sessions, just do something.  Even if you are just reading an article to your kids, just do something.

Saying all that, lol, here is my lesson on Jinns for elementary students.  I like to keep away from explaining things in my own words as I feel its better to leave it up to the scholars, so most of the text is straight from articles. Of course, at times, a lower level  explanation must be made.

There are 8 lessons in total and activities to go along with them.

Lesson 1: What is a Jinn?

Lesson 2: Why Were Jinn Created?

Lesson 3: Everyone Has a Jinn

Lesson 4: Types of Jinn

Lesson 5: Do Jinns Eat and Drink?

Lesson 6: Do Jinns Have Powers?

Lesson 7: Where Do Jinns Live?

Lesson 8: Protection from Jinn

Creations of Allah Lessons: Jinns

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2009 in Islamic Studies: Allah Created

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “What is a Jinn? Lessons on Jinns

  1. Umm Ibraheem

    October 24, 2009 at 6:52 am

    As salaamu alaykum wa rahmatulahi wa barkatu!

    I just wanted to say ” May Allah reward you for sharing all this info with us. ameen Jazakallahu khair also i was wondering if you will be updating your yahoo group talibiddeenjr

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 24, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

      Thank you for your duaa, masha Allah.

      I have decided not to continue updating the yahoo group site (you may have missed the message). I am still leaving it up as I may pick it back up in the future. Right now I am semi using the blog as a way to inform of updates to the main site. I am so happy you found the updates newsletter helpful and insha Allah I’ll find a way to make informing visitors of what’s new a little easier.

       
  2. saba

    October 24, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    JazakAllah khayr!
    Loved it! my 5 yr old recently expressed interest in learning more about Shaytaan and Jinn! Am going to go thru this with her today InshaAllah! (and learn alongside!)
    Keep ’em coming!

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      October 24, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      wa yakum.

      Masha Allah, how timely then. Thanks so much for letting me know it may be useful.

       
      • saba

        October 24, 2009 at 6:54 pm

        Can you set up some sort of daily email/ schedule? Like, topics to study today .. just as a reminder.. and to encourage us/ me to consciously make time for it:)

        Personally, I get so caught up in ‘other’ things online that i lose track:(

         
      • talibiddeenjr

        October 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

        Great idea. I had toyed around with something similar to this as I am trying to set up a basic daily islamic review with my kids. I set up a day of the week for several subject areas (eg. Sunday-Aqeedah, Monday-Salaat, etc) and then my plan is to make little review banks (lists of questions of concepts covered). In this way, each day, I could just check to see what the subject area was, pick up the questions and review several of them each day. It would be either just a few quick minutes of review before a formal IS lesson, or if the day wasn’t going so great, that would be our Islamic Studies. I was toying around with the idea of putting it on a yahoo group (such as a newsgroup) as I could put the review in reminders and they would recycle from year to year. (if I put them here, then once its posted, well u know how entries become old). Would this idea (the yahoo group) be of interest to you? It wouldn’t be a discussion group, just a daily reminder with review questions would be sent out.

         
      • saba

        October 29, 2009 at 7:25 pm

        YES!!! I’m in! Yahoo also has a calendar function right ?- where u can send out reminders? can you add review questions to those reminders?

         
      • talibiddeenjr

        October 30, 2009 at 5:47 pm

        Naam, the space in the Yahoo calendar reminders is pretty big these days, 2000 characters as opposed to I think it used to be 200 or something small. I’ll keep u posted, insha Allah…….

         
 
