RSS

Technology in the Homeschool – Spelling Via Messenger?

04 Nov

My 11 year old is such a smart little guy, masha Allah, but not the studying/school type. So its hard to get him interested in studying.75px-Yahoo!_Messenger_logo

Lately though, he’s been doing better (better being relative here, lol) and though not perfect, he has been cooperating more. So I am  trying to be more accommodating.

Yesterday, I called him for spelling. To my surprise, he had a good attitude. He asked me could he type the words on the computer. My first instinct was to say no, get a pencil and paper, but since he was cooperating, I thought, why sour the punch?

But………………….. I was at my desk and he was way over on the other side of the room (ok, well it wasn’t that far) and I couldn’t see the words that he typed…….ok, he could have come closer but we had just fooled around earlier getting Yahoo Messenger on his computer so that popped into my head.

And boy what a winner that was!

So I IM’d him and called out the spelling word. He typed it in and sent it. Boy did he get a kick out of that (no writing!) and he said, you know, this can help my typing skills too!

If he misspelled a word, I typed it in correctly. I even had him type misspelled words several times in a row.

He didn’t want to stop when it was time to break for lunch!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in Technology in Homeschooling

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Technology in the Homeschool – Spelling Via Messenger?

  1. educatingthemuslimchild

    November 7, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Asalaam ‘Alaikum:

    I am finding that sometimes using things like this really make a difference in their attitudes with their work. Sometimes they just drag to get things done and other times I don’t have the energy to come up with another neat way to do things. However, when it all comes together – it’s great, masha’Allah. My kiddo likes to spell her words into the microphone on the computer like she is at a Spelling Bee. She’s learning, so why not! Thanks for the neat idea – I’m going to have to try that one!

    Asalaam ‘Alaikum,
    Sumayyah

     
  2. Juwariyah bint Asim Abdullah

    November 12, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Ok so like that was soooooo cool, Me and Samyrah do something similar but I use her email , Ill have to try this one…. Barakallahu feeki

     
 
