RSS

Bread Boys!

11 Nov

I don’t know what has gotten in to my big boys lately, but I’m likin’ it!039

For the past couple of weeks, my 16 year old has been bitten by the bread makin’ bug and this week, my 11 year old joined in.

Why the Interest?

I asked my oldest son what made him want to start making bread?  He is homesick for Yemen (from where we just moved) and remembers seeing the men in the makbazah baking up flat bread and roti.  When he would go buy the bread from the store downstairs, sometimes it wasn’t ready so he would eagerly watch them making it.

So, one day a couple of weeks ago, he jumped online and found a recipe for flat bread and headed to the kitchen…..to my delight, masha Allah!

Ever since then, he’s been baking up a storm!

 

Not Just One Type

A few days after his bread making began, I whipped up some dough for soft pretzels and that became his next project. He’s made pretzels two or three times since and the day before yesterday, he really “perfected” them.  Its funny (in a good way)  to hear him talk about what he learned, how to tweak the recipe to get better results.

Yesterday, he made flat bread to go along with our lentils for dinner.

And also, yesterday, my 11 year old joined in on the bread wagon…..

I had started making what has become like our breakfast for nearly everyday for the past few weeks…crescent rolls. So yesterday I was making the dough and he said that he wanted to help. As I had oodles of school stuff to attend to, I ended up letting him take over.  He rolled out the dough and cut it and folded up into the rolls. Halfway through, he got the idea to make them like cinnamon rolls so I mixed up a cinnamon sugar mixture and he buttered the doll and sprinkled the mixture on.

And today, again, I made up the dough and he’s been belting them out.

 

Learning All the Time with Homeschooling

Its really been a natural learning experience as well (had to throw that in as a HOMESCHOOLER, lol).  Both the youngest and oldest have learned how to use the stove (we had a cheapy gas stove in Yemen for so many years so this one had more bells and whistles); they learned about the properties of yeast and really, so much more (and I didn’t have to give a lecture!)

 

 

Here are the recipes we started with:

Pretzels: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/buttery-soft-pretzels/detail.aspx (read the first user comment, its packed with a mini science lesson about why baking soda is used).

Crescent Rolls: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/golden-crescent-rolls/Detail.aspx

 

Happy bread making if the bread bug hits (has hit) you too!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Bread Boys!

  1. Juwariyah bint Asim Abdullah

    November 12, 2009 at 8:12 am

    As Salaamu alayki hey girl

    I love it! HOMESCHOOLing. I really believe in my heart that this is the way it is suppose to be. It makes things seem so real and natural. And that is one reason why I do like to call Homeschooling Natural Schooling.

    This reminds me of making dough boys (which I learned from a friend while living in Egypt) mashallah. And every time I made them by oldest son would go crazy. The kids love to see me backing new things and always say that when they grow bigger LOL that they would be doing the same thing. In ShaAllah may be one day they will open up their very own Makbazah! LOL

    Thanks for sharing so cute!

     
  2. fruitfulfusion

    November 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Assalaamu ALaykum,

    That’s amazing ma sha Allah! The bread bug has bitten me but my kids don’t do any bread-making.

    I’ve been visiting your site for ages and just wanted to say jazakillahu khayran for all the wonderful stuff you share with us ma sha Allah. I’m not a homeschooler but I do use resources like yours to teach my kids at home.

    Umm Hibaat
    xxx

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      November 17, 2009 at 12:47 pm

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      wa yakum.
      Alhamdulillah, it’s neat to see that TJ is helpful for non homeschoolers as well.

       
  3. DeeN

    November 12, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Assalamualaikum,
    Sis, my 5 yo had the bread bug too, lol…and then my 7 yo joined in when she found that we can make pizze (her fave) from the crescent rolls. I used regular croissant dough one because the pizza dough from Pillbury is not to the liking of my picky DD7. We roll the dough out, flat and square, put pizza sauce, variety of shredded cheese then put it in oven. After it’s ready, I trim the edges and make a nice circle and cut into 8. At Costco, they have a pack of 4 frozen rolls for $4.50, so you cant beat the price for this pizza!

     
 
