RSS

Writing Blog Posts Offline

16 Nov

In the past, when my internet connection was dial up (well, sometimes now, it seems to crawl like dial up), I liked to write my blog posts offline. I have found/used a few and thought I’d share them…..

 

Qumana

I used to write offline posts with Qumana.  It’s cool and served the purpose, but well, it wasn’t all that spiffy to use (of course they may have improved it since I last used it).  If you have a blog that you can add ads, to, you can add ads via Qumana.

 

Scribe Fire

Earlier this year, I started using ScribeFire, a FireFox add on for writing blog posts outside of your blog provider’s interface. When you activate it in your web browser, it cuts your web page in half and reveals a little writing area.  Once you add your blog details in and connect it  with your blog, then your categories, recent entries, etc. are available for all new posts. You can easily add You Tube videos, pictures, change fonts, and really lots of other cool things (as well as monetize, again if your blog provider allows this). You can save your post draft as a note.

Well, ScribeFire is nifty, but I haven’t used it that often (I keep forgetting). Then I downloaded ……..

 

Windows Live Writer

 

Love It!

heart_jon_phillips_01

In fact, I’m writing this post with it right now!

With Windows Live Writer, you can do all the things that I mentioned above, but to me the interface is nicer and more intuitive if you are used to using Office/Windows products.  You can easily add pictures from your computer (takes less time to add a picture via Live Write than it does for me to add one on my WP dashboard).  Plug ins can be added on so that you can insert files (but it already comes with several plug ins like tables, photo album and pics). You can also schedule posts…….

A few other nifties….. you can access your blog’s dashboard very easily from within Windows Live Writer. When Windows Live Writer, sets up your blog, it gets details to provide a writing interface that mimics your blog (e.g. the window I type in, the typing area is equal to the with of my blog’s main content area.  You can save your drafts to your computer and it can also retrieve posts from your blog.

 

*******

If you are looking for offline blogging software (and of course all are FREE), use the links above to check them out.

 

What do you use?

Do you use offline blogging software? If so, which one?

 

 

heart signature

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Writing Blog Posts Offline

  1. Juwariyah bint Asim Abdullah

    November 17, 2009 at 4:50 am

    As Salaamu alayki…You know i did think about using that Windows Live Writer but it just seems so complicated so Ill have to check it out again and see what I am missing LOL wink!!!

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      November 17, 2009 at 6:43 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      I think you should try it, let me know if you need any help. I find it pretty easy to work with, masha Allah.

       
 
