RSS

Keeping Up With Notebooks

19 Nov

image image

Although they have large, more “Amreeki” type notebooks here (the spiral type), in Yemen and here, the smaller, (cheaper) exercise book (similar to that pictured) is widely used in schools. So right now, my younger students are using those.   They have clear bag pouches

 

 

right now that they keep the notebooks in. But I found that at class time there was a scramble to make sure they had all their notebooks. It was a task to keep track of which ones they were missing. 

So I came up with a simple method to help us keep track and it really works, masha Allah. Nothing earth shattering, but sharing……..

 

Make a List of All Notebooks Student Should Have by Subject

Pretty self explanatory.  By the subject, I put numbers

Spelling 1

Grammar 2

Math 3

Science 4

Reading 5

Writing 6

Arabic 7

 

Number the Notebooks

 

The kids write the subjects on the notebooks, but I had them take the numbers from my list above and they number the notebooks accordingly. 

Wow, this little trick did the trick. Now when they gather their notebooks, they don’t have to sit and say, ok, here’s spelling, here’s grammar, what’s missing? They just put the notebooks in order by the numbers and can tell instantly which notebook is missing.

This was a great timesaver, masha Allah.

 

I keep the list of notebooks handy by my desk for reference, so they can say, ok, notebook 4 is missing, that’s science, and go off to look for their science notebook.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2009 in Homeschool Management

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Keeping Up With Notebooks

  1. andinialislam

    November 22, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Notebooks? what notebooks? Oh my, do I really need to have them? lol

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      November 26, 2009 at 5:58 am

      I NEED them, lol.

       
 
