RSS

What’s Cooking? Cabbage Roll Casserole

29 Nov

29112009173I’m not a cabbage eater. But the spouse and kids love cabbage so I decided  to be nice and “treat” them to it today. Problem. I had no idea how to cook it.  Ok, I have heard of boiled cabbage, but thought that would be rather plain so I looked online for some recipes.

At AllRecipes my usual first stop for recipes, I found a cabbage roll casserole recipe….ground beef, rice, tomato sauce, onions, and oh yeah, cabbage.  So I thought, I’ll try that, not too confident that anything I made with cabbage would come out tasty.

WOW! Everyone loved it….including me!  So alhamdulillah, that’s one to write down. The kids were like, you’ve GOT to make this again….this tastes like restaurant food……..

So if you’d like to try this recipe, here’s the URL:

Cabbage Roll Recipe

Now, I should note that the recipe called for the rice to be cooked all together with all of the other ingredients. However, I know when I sometimes cook casseroles with rice, the rice sometimes doesn’t get cooked very well. So I opted to cook it separate from the dish and then the cabbage casserole became like a spoon over sauce as in shown in the picture.

 

Since this came out so well, I’d like to try other cabbage recipes as its pretty inexpensive.

Do you have any great cabbage recipes? I’d love to see them, insha Allah.

heart signature

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2009 in Household: Recipes

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “What’s Cooking? Cabbage Roll Casserole

  1. Umme Ayyoob

    February 16, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Assalaamu Alaikum
    I have a favourite recipe for cabbage. Try it out maybe you’ll like it too.Insha-Allah.It’s quite easy:
    1.Make a mince(ground beef) mixture as you would for meatloaf or kebabs (usually that would be:ground beef,chopped onion, green pepper, garlic,herbs & spices, bread crumbs or soaked stale bread and whatever else you like to add).
    2.Set aside.Next take apart your cabbage leaves. Keep the big leaves one side and chop up the smaller ones.
    3.Braise some onions with allspice,peppercorns,garlic,cinnamon sticks and cardomom.Add the chopped up cabbage,not the big leaves.You could also add pieces of beef/mutton for a richer stew.Simmer over moderate heat till well done.Season with salt, cumin powder, pepper and ground coriander.
    4.Steam the big cabbage leaves till soft.Cool down.
    5.Make palm sized balls of the ground beef mixture and wrap it with a cabbage leaf.Place on top of the braised onion mixture and cook over a low heat until it is set before giving the pot a careful stir.

    Serve with rice.
    NB.Try to not add too much water while cooking.Check regularly during cooking and add about a 1/4 cup whenever needed.
    Also you should judge for yourself how much ingredients you will need as I don’t have official measurements.I kinda like cooking instinctively.Feel free to tweak the ingredients to your taste(add or leave out somethings as you wish)’cause you can’t really make a flop of this.
    I’m South African,more specifically I’m ‘Cape Malay’ and this is one of our traditional recipes.My grandmother calls it ‘ou mense onder komberse’, Afrikaans for:old folk under quilts.
    Enjoy.
    Oh before I forget: I cannot get access to your official homeschool site.Is it no longer running.That would really be a shame because as a homeschooler myself I love making use of your site.I’ve gained so much info,tips and knowledge on how to homeschool from you.Jazaakallah.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 16, 2010 at 10:36 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      wa yakum.
      Sorry for taking so long to respond.
      Have you tried to access my site at http://talibiddeenjr.amanahwebs.com? The .com address has expired, but this one still works.

      I cook like you as well, not really measuring anything these days.

      Recipe sounds yummy, in sh aAllah I will try it. My kids and husband love cabbage.

       
 
