RSS

Things to do With Left Over Rice – Rice Croquettes (Patties)

30 Nov

So I had a lot of white rice leftover. The first thing that came to my mind was rice croquettes as I don’t really like leftover warmed up plain rice. 

I looked online for rice croquette recipes (I had made these one time before in Egypt with a recipe from an old fashioned cookbook which I no longer have). Most of the recipes called for ingredients that I didn’t have on hand: parmesan cheese, bread crumbs…… But instead of giving up, I was determined to use that rice so I decided to take a recipe as a base to work with and do my own thing.

This is the recipe that I started to work from: Rice Croquettes over at Cooks.com.

RICE CROQUETTES

1/2 c. chopped onion
1 1/2 tbsp. sweet butter
1 c. rice
2 tbsp. chopped parsley
2 1/2 c. chicken broth
1 egg
1/2 c. Parmesan cheese
1 tsp. dried basil leaves
1/4 tsp. pepper
3/4 c. dry bread crumbs
1/4 – 1/3 c. olive oil
Parsley for garnish

Soften butter; add rice, sauté until glazed, stir in parsley and broth, bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, simmer 20 minutes. Stir in egg, cheese, basil and pepper. Mixture should be very moist. Shape into 12 to 16 croquettes. Roll in bread crumbs. Fry in the olive oil until golden brown. Drain and serve.

Now, I did a fair amount of tweaking to this recipe so I’ll explain (as it might be kind of humorous, ok well maybe interesting at the very least)………

I did as instructed to the simmering for 20 minutes part. But, as I have a big family (and a lot of left over rice), I used 5 cups of rice).  I used about as much of the broth as they recommended, but with 5 cups of rice, it was really runny (so I was like, how could you use that amount of broth for 1 cup of rice?) Well, I couldn’t envision this being thick enough so I strained the rice!

Well, as I said I didn’t have the cheese and actually didn’t have the basil or olive oil as well. So I just stirred in the egg and the mixture seemed thick enough to proceed.  Now, I didn’t have bread crumbs but had some days’ old bread. Well, this was the time to use that broiler on the oven (I had never tried the broiler out yet). So of course I put it on high, being impatient. Then went back to my rice mixture.  Ok, so a few minutes later, the oven starts smoking…..I turn it off and wait for the smoke to clear. 

Well, the rice mixture is still hot from the stove, so I set him in the refrigerator for a few minutes to cool off.  Now….what would I do about the bread crumbs (or lack thereof)?  I was looking at some other recipe for rice balls (a sweetened version) and they had mentioned dusting the rice balls into powdered sugar. Of course!  When I make tuna patties, I just use some seasoned flour and roll the patties in that. So that’s what I ended up using for these. I put a little salt, pepper, and what the heck, some cumin powder in the flour, mixed it up and used that as my coating. 

No olive oil, so I just pan fry in sunflower oil, maybe 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup.  I am so not good at following amounts….sometimes that’s bad, but sometimes, things still work out. So I  pan fried them and masha Allah, they were super tasty. They almost gave the illusion of meat (as my tuna patties come out with the same type of fried appearance and texture). 

rice-croquettes

So if you’ve got some left over rice, and feel a little adventurous, why not try my non-recipe?

 

Happy Cooking!

heart signature

 
Comments Off on Things to do With Left Over Rice – Rice Croquettes (Patties)

Posted by on November 30, 2009 in Household: Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
