RSS

Islamic Preschool Curriculum Outline

10 Dec

imageMy four year old is getting to the point where he wants to do school.  We get in a few simple activities here and there, but I really want to make learning fun for him and structured—to a degree. So I made up a little themed curriculum outline for him (well for me to use with him) .  My hope was that I could make Islam be the basis of all themes and then weave in math and Language (including Arabic) into it to provide a well rounded, yet Islamic centered curriculum.

I hope to eventually be able to make up materials to go along with it, but for now, I just needed a guide, something to keep me on track and some ideas. So that’s what’s below.

If you find it useful, please let me know, as I will keep that in mind and hopefully one day enhance it so that it may have resources to accompany it or at the very least, linked so that you can click and  find materials to support it.

 

Islam is My Life!

Islamic Preschool Curriculum Outline

Week

Topic

Vocabulary (teach/oral drilling of terms)

Sight Words -English(flashcards and writing practice)

Sight Words – Arabic (flash cards)

Big Idea/Across the curriculum connections

1.

Q: Who is Allah?

A: Allah is my Lord?

 

Allah, Lord

Allah, Lord

color in Allah’s Name in English; practice writing Allah’s Name in English; drill on the Q & A; can teach “is” and “my” as sight words and Allah is my Lord can be read and written.

2.

Q: Where is Allah?

A: Huwa fee samaa (with pointing)

Arabic: Samaa (heavens, sky); Huwa for he

   

Learn a little about clouds; draw pictures of clouds; can teach “where” and Where is Allah? Can be read and written.

3.

Q: Who Created You?

A: Allah; or Allahu khalaqanee

Al Khaaliq – The Creator

   

talk about why Allah created us (to worship him); talk about types of worship, what worship is (doing things Allah like and staying away from things he doesn’t like); how Allah say “Kun” (be) and things are created

4.

Creations of Allah: People

 

Man, girl, boy

 

Read about different types of people around the world, the different colors and that they come from different countries, how not all are Muslim like us

5.

Creations of Allah: Animals

 

cat, pig, dog, cow, bat

 

learn about different animals this week and always mention that Allah created them; learn about names for baby animals (kid, calf, etc) or what you call groups of a particular animal. Talk about farm animals; zoos, etc.

6.

Creations of Allah: Nature

 

tree, rock, flower, etc.

 

Read about something different in nature each day, remembering that Allah created everything

7.

Allah lets me wake up each day

 

day, night, sleep

 

Discuss importance of sleep; how Allah allows us to wake up each morning, practice duaa for waking up; establish/review morning routine

8.

Allah gives me food to eat

 

food, pizza, apple, etc. foods that are familiar to child

 

go over eating etiquette; food groups, favorite foods, not wasting, sharing food and sharing equally; cook a simple recipe with Umm

9.

Remember Allah through our day

     

stress that we should say duaas and remember Allah all throughout our day; go over etiquette of duaas; bathroom etiquette and duaas;

10.

Q: What is the Quraan?

A: The book of Allah

 

book, Quraan

 

discuss that the Quraan is the book of Allah; it is his words, how to treat a mushaf, that the Quraan is written in Arabic; start to teach Fatihah, Naas, Ikhlaas, and Kawthar during the rest of the year; others if possible

11.

I must obey my parents

mom/dad; Umm; Abu; Anaa (I)

mom, dad, me, I

Umm, Ab

teach what the word obey means, that it is a sin to not obey your parents, that Allah says this in the Quraan; talk about ways we can obey our parents, (doing things the first time told) and always reminding that disobeying does not please Allah.

12.

Allah sees all

Al Baseer

see, all, eye

 

Talk about the fact that Allah sees everything, nothing is hidden from him; teach the Name Al Baseer; show how in a dark room, we cannot see a tiny speck but that Allah can; teach that we must always remember that Allah can see every little thing we do and say so we need to watch what we do and say; sense of sight (taking care of our eyes, learn about our eyes); make simple sentences to read and write: I see a (use past sight words)

13.

Allah hears all

Al Samee

hear, ear

 

same things as above but applied to hearing; care of ears; sounds that different animals or things make; make simple sentences to read and write: I hear a (use past sight words)

14.

         

15.

Allah gives me shelter

beyt – house

house, door, in, out

 

monitor the saying of the duaas for entering and leaving the house; memorization not necessary, insha Allah will come with time; shelters of different types of people or animals

16.

My house

names of different rooms in house in Arabic and English

   

go over the functions of each type of room; what we do in each type of room; things you find in each type of room; maybe a different room each day this week; how to help clean each type of room; being thankful for our homes, realizing that others do not have homes

17.

Allah gave me a family

family, names of different types of members’ (sister, brother, etc) actual names of family members; usrah or ailah is family in Arabic

family

 

talk about the different members of a family; make a textual family tree; introduce “my” and make sentences: This is my family, this is my house, my cat, etc.

18.

Allah gave me a healthy body I: my face

face body parts in Arabic and English

optional: nose, mouth, hair (review eye and ear); cheek

 

learn body part names, tell the functions of the body parts; sense of taste and smell; classify tastes as sweet, sour, bitter, salty by doing an “experiment;” go over smells, things that smell good, things that smell bad; cleaning and taking care of parts of your face; talk about sicknesses and conditions of the face parts (blindness, deafness); dental care; first aid for cuts; sentences: this is my nose, this is my eye, etc.

19.

Allah gave me a healthy body II: my body

any body parts in Arabic and English

arm, leg, hand, foot/feet

 

learn body part names, tell the functions of the body parts; keeping our bodies healthy; sentences, this is my………..

20.

Allah gave me clothes

clothing names in Arabic and English

clothing words

 

learn about the different types of clothing, what weather they are worn in; cleaning our clothes, taking care of them, putting them up when we undress/dress, say duaa for getting dressed, Bismillaah before getting undresses; hijaabs and thowbs

21.

Getting Around: Land vehicles

land vehicles in Arabic and English

truck, car, bike

 

read about different types of land vehicles; math activities using vehicles (word problems, counting, sorting); draw picture of different types of vehicles; can also talk about use of animals as vehicles; sentences: I see a…… this is a…….

22.

Getting Around: Water & air vehicles

boat, plane, jet, etc

boat, plane, jet

 

read about different types of land vehicles; math activities using vehicles (word problems, counting, sorting); draw pictures; sort vehicles by how they travel, land, air, water; sentences: I see a…… this is a…….

23.

Things in my neighborhood

neighbor, neighborhood; specific store types

specific things in a neighborhood (park, store, etc)

 

draw an aerial map of neighborhood (or color one in); simple maps

24.

People in my neighborhood I

Islamic neighborhood people (imam, brothers, sisters, muadhdhin, elders

imam

 

talk about how to treat each person (give salaam); be respectful to elders, all muslims are our brothers and sisters;

25.

People in my neighborhood II

non Islamic people in neighborhood; occupations

   

being kind to neighbors whether they are muslim or not; giving gifts to neighbors; learn about different community workers

26.

Weather

weather words, including hot and cold in Arabic and English

sun, rain, cloud, snow

 

talk about and identify different types of weather: snowy, rainy, sunny, cloudy; track the weather daily with a weather graph and analyze it; draw what different types of weather looks like; could learn how to answer question, how is the weather in Arabic (and English)

27.

Outside my world

planet/universe vocabulary

sun, moon, earth

 

look at pictures of solar system, identify sun, moon, and earth;

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2009 in Preschool-Islamic

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Islamic Preschool Curriculum Outline

  1. Umm Abdul Basir

    December 10, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    As SAlaamu Alaykum, ooooh great one! maybe I can do some or most of this with my 2 yr old and perhaps refresh my 4 and 5 yr old? Nice as usual! Jazakallahu Khair

     
  2. Safiyah

    December 11, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Assalamu alaikum, I love this! My 4 year old is also wanting to do school like his 6 year old brother, but I dont really want anything too structured. He does go to Islamic Sunday School and loves it to pieces. I will be very very happy to see this enhanced and developed, and will use many of the ideas with my son.

    I was wondering if you know of this blog, you may be able to use some of their ideas/resources to enhance your curriculum:

    http://www.islamicschoolresources.com/preschoolresource.htm

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 16, 2010 at 10:49 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Naam, I have seen the site, it is helpful. Kind of at a standstill for now, as my preschooler is transitioning to kindergarten level, but I have another one (almost 2) who will need it, in sha Allah, s o I hope to get back to developing it.

       
  3. Umm Nusaybah

    December 11, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Asalam alaikum dear sis, i am raelly impressed with this simple but very educative curriculum you have put up. I am not a homeschooler but i also have an almost 4 year old i can use it for. Also where i teach we’ve been trying to put up a curriculum for our nursery so i’ll forward ir to the larger house, hoping that they’ll love it too!
    I always enjoy your blogs keep up with the good work and I hope to homeschool someday Insha Allah.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Thanks for your encouragement. Hope you find it helpufl.

       
  4. lolliesplace

    December 13, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Salam,

    Masya Allah tabarakallah. I love it very much. Particularly on how you divide “Allah the Creator” section. (I am looking at this topic currently).

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 16, 2010 at 10:47 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Alhamdulillah. Hope it is helpful.

       
  5. ummu ammar

    April 2, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    jazakallah akhsana jazaa for find this site, give more inspiration it is helpful to islamic building character.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      April 30, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      wa yakum. I am happy you find it helpful. Thanks for letting me know!

       
  6. zakat

    May 2, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Great post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I am inspired! Very helpful information specifically the final part :) I deal with such information a lot. I used to be seeking this certain information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 14, 2012 at 5:05 am

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write. I am happy if the material and information will be useful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 737 other followers

