RSS

Organizing/Reorganizing Your Household with TJ! Part I

06 Jan

house3 

I’m in the process of reorganizing our household (chores, schedules, etc) and thought I’d share what I’m doing to try to get more control over things, insha Allah.

So here’s my method. I thought I would share a step by step method in case anyone wanted to give it a try…..

I felt that organizing our days would be the best place to start………….

Organizing our days

To organize our days, I needed to see what we NEEDed to do, what we WANTed to do………………..

1. So….. I listed my major activity categories, i.e. Asked myself what categories do our usual duties fall under?. Here is what I came up with:

· Cleaning

· Cooking

· Homeschooling

· Work (for those who work outside of the home or have a home business); for me I count maintaining my sites under here

· Child care (making sure the little ones diapers are changed/potty breaks, naps, etc)

· Hygiene

· Manners

· Religious Practices/obligations

· Quraan

· Umm free time (well, just threw this one there, I have to work on this area)

I just looked at my different roles as a Muslim woman to help me see what the major areas were that I felt I needed to make sure were addressed in our daily plan. I’m a chronic brainstorming so this just helped me get started.

Can you add anymore to this list?

2. For each category above, I list as many activities that fall under the categories that I could think of that we/I do:

Here is what I came up with. Of course, this will vary depending upon each family, so add/delete accordingly (this is just to give you a head start). To save time, write down a M for things that need to be done Monthly; W for weekly, and D for daily! (But you can leave this for later if you you want.)

Cleaning

Cooking

Child care

laundry

food prep

diaper changes/potty breaks

bathrooms

clean up

naps

kitchen

meal/menu planning

playtime with ummy

bathrooms

grocery list making

story time

living room

grocery shopping

 

outside the house

   

hallways

   

appliances

   

dusting

   

switchplates/fixtures

   

doors/knobs

   

walls

   

rugs/carpet

   

trash

   

windows

   

mopping

   
     
     

Homeschooling

Manners/Etiquettes

Hygiene

planning

greeting

bathroom etiquette

instruction

enter/exiting

menses hygiene

grading

good speech

nails

review/skill building

being helpful

shaving

organizing

eating etiquette

cleaning up after self

 

sleeping

bathing/ghusl

   

grooming

     

Religious duties/practices

Work (for me is my sites)

Umm Time

duaas

blog posting

activities that Umm likes to do

equate everyday actions with the religion

site maintenance

e.g. read, crafts

prayer

site design

 

Recite/hifz Quraan

link checking

 

encouraging/praising good deeds

researching/adding new content

 

study/Islamic Studies

file management

 
     

Don’t forget to put in frequency if you can right now (weekly, monthly, daily), but you can always do it later, insha Allah!

So now I had a clearer picture of what I need to do. Yes, it’s a lot, but it quantifies things for me and makes the work seem less endless. Of course, some things may slip your mind at this point. Just add on when you think of them, insha Allah. For example, doctor’s appointments, outside the house activities (we don’t really do too much of either, so I didn’t include them for me).

As this can get kind of long, I’ll split this up into several posts, insha Allah…………

Next, insha Allah: Part II: Planning Your Days Around the Five Salaat

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Household Management

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Organizing/Reorganizing Your Household with TJ! Part I

  1. UmmEmmanuel

    January 10, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Alhumdullilah I loe you’re site, I have a folder just to save materials.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      January 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Masha Allah.

      Thanks for that. You made my day, masha Allah.

       
  2. umm naiha

    July 13, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Jazakallhu khyran sis. I wud definitely like to try this method,insha Allah.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 737 other followers

