RSS

Islamic Studies Checklists – Eating Etiquette

23 Mar

My oldest child is 17 and I’ve really been concerned lately about what I’ve taught him and his siblings, Islamically. Has it been enough? Have I missed important things. Allahu ilm.

As homeschoolers, we should know that we cannot not teach our children everything, and, really, that is not the goal of  homeschooling or any schooling, as this task would be impossible.  We give our children basic knowledge and the skills to seek out that which they don’t know so that when they are on their own they can do so.

Having said that, I realized that there are many basic things Islamically that I want to teach/share with my children.  A great deal of these things, come naturally through our everyday experiences, but some don’t (well at least not every-everyday).  I’m the type of person who likes checklists so I decided to make one up for various aspects of Islamic Studies.

The first list completed is for eating etiquette.  It lists basic skills/knowledge pertaining to Islamic eating etiquette as well as the reference for proof of this action/skill. I mostly “stuck” to Bukhari and Muslim, but there are a few from Dawud as well.

If you think of any other skills that might go on this list, please let me know (providing a reference, please) and I’ll add it to the list for others (and myself) to benefit from, insha Allah.

Hope you find it  helpful………………………

Islamic Studies Skills Checklist – Eating Etiquette

Also be sure to check out my other Islamic Eating Etiquette Resources here at the blog:

https://talibiddeenjr.wordpress.com/category/islamic-studies/adab/eating-etiquette/

UPDATE. The files below have been found (at my old site, plus were also emailed to me) thanks so much to the sisters who responded.

REQUEST:  My eating etiquette guide and bathroom etiquette guide appear to have disappeared from my server (or at least I can’t find them at the moment). If you happen to have a copy of either one (and you do if you are a true TJ fan—LOL….. I would greatly appreciate if you can send me a copy.

Tomorrow…..Quraan checklist, insha Allah.

Hope your homeschooling week is off to a great start!

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Islamic Studies Checklists – Eating Etiquette

  1. Eman

    March 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    http://tj-islamicstudies.tripod.com/adab/EatingEtiquette.pdf

    I actually downloaded it just the other day. JazakAllah khair for everything that you do.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      March 24, 2010 at 8:37 pm

      LOL. Thanks. Now I know why I couldn’t find it, lol. It was still in my ancient site files still. Thanks again. The bathroom one’s there too.

       
 
