RSS

Writing Guides

16 May

I’m trying to get back to more consistent writing in our homeschool.  Sometimes I have it as a separate period and sometimes I try to make it correlate with what we are studying in other areas (eg. science). 

Most of the kids are pretty good self starters, alhamdulillah and I wanted them to have something they could just pick up and use to appropriate guide them through the writing process if I am unavailable. So I came up with the idea of some writing guides. 

So that I don’t have to keep recreating the wheel,  I am assembling writing guides for many different types of writing:

Mode (Type)

If you want to:

Use this guide:

Expository

tell about/explain; inform about something; an object

 

Expository

tell about; inform about an animal

 

Expository

tell about; inform about a food

 

Expository

compare two things

 

Expository

tell/explain how to do something; how to make something; explain a process

 

Expository

tell about yourself (autobiography)

 

Expository

tell about someone else

 

Expository

tell about a place

 

Expository

write a friendly letter

 

Expository

write a thank you letter

 

Expository

write an invitation

 

Narrative

tell about an event, trip, something you did

 

Narrative

write a story

 

Persuasive

tell about a story/book you read or write a book report

 

Persuasive

persuade/get some one to do or not to do something or to change their way of thinking

 

Persuasive

get someone to buy something (advertisement, classified ad)

 

Persuasive

express/say your opinion (tell what you think); write a letter to the editor

 

Persuasive

tell about a movie you saw or review it

 

Persuasive

tell about a game you played or review it

 

Persuasive

tell about a product you used or review it

 

Persuasive

write a business letter to request information?

 

Persuasive

Write a business letter to complain/resolve an issue

 

My plan is to compile them into a packet and my kids can use them to look up the type of writing that has been assigned and go to the guide above to help them. The first time through, I go through the guide/steps and then after that, they can work on their own, but every so often a review or mini lesson can be done.

My first guide, “Writing about an event,” is complete.  Included on a separate piece of paper is a list of possible writing topics.

I am interested in knowing if people would be interested in purchasing something like this. If you would, please leave a comment.  Also, I welcome any suggestions as to how I can edit it to fit a particular issue/need not covered. So please hit me up with some comments!  

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2010 in Writing

 

3 responses to “Writing Guides

  1. Amanda in Wisconsin

    May 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I love your blog soo much mashallah. I would most likely purchase something like this – not for my kids because they are still a bit young but for my DH who is an ESL learner and writing is the area he is really focusing on – this would be a huge help to him.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      Ma sha Allah. Alhamdulillah. It is so nice to know that what I post is useful. Thanks for letting me know that this is something you would be interested in. If he uses this, please let me know of ways I can improve this.

       
  2. Umm Ibrahim

    May 22, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I have used this site: http://nadabs.tripod.com/writing/ and I just noticed that it is actually an ESL source for writing. Maybe your husband could take a look at it. It is very helpful!

     
 
