RSS

Graphic Design

24 May

My 14 year old thinks she wants to go into graphic design.  Ma sha Allah, I think she has the aptitude for it. She is my color analyst for projects. She has a flair for laying things out;  whereas I may just put pictures or clip art straight on a page, she may slant them, or if I go with a basic skinny line border, she may take it and just make the line bolder and what a difference it makes.

So, I have scoured the net looking for resources to help her get some of the theory behind graphic design.  I think I’d like to take some of the tutorials myself……………….

I thought these resources would be great for her, as well as material for elective courses for high school.

 


Exploring Graphic Design as a possible career choice


Free Tutorials and Online Introductory Courses (and reading that can be used for HS coursework)


Standards/Objectives

PMSD – Graphic Design

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Graphic Design

  1. Fruitful Fusion

    May 24, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Jazakillahu khayran for this excellent list of links! At the age of 14, I also wanted to go in to Graphic Design! I didn’t study it because I wasn’t able to take Art and ended up going in to Engineering! Now, I’m hoping to dip back in to GD in sha Allah and these links are a great for that!

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      May 24, 2010 at 10:42 am

      wa yakum. Hope you find them helpful. I am excited to go through them myself as well. I started with one of them a while back, so hope to start going through them again. And with several of them, those links lead to a whole other slew of links too1

       
  2. Umm Abdullah Layan

    May 27, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Asalamualikum. There is one sister I know of whom i think is the most AWESOME Muslimah Graphic Designer. Her website is: http://www.maghribistyle.com/ Check out her work I think she could really give some inspiration to your daughter. I think her name is Khadeejah although you will not find her name or sex on the current version of the website, many years ago she had it in her bio.

     
  3. Umm Abdullah Layan

    May 27, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Asalamualikum. There is one sister I know of whom i think is the most AWESOME Muslimah Graphic Designer. Her website is: http://www.maghribistyle.com/ Check out her work I think she could really give some inspiration to your daughter. I think her name is Khadeejah although you will not find her name or sex on the current version of the website, many years ago she had it in her bio.

     
  4. George Lewis-Jones

    June 6, 2010 at 4:27 am

    Its a great job to be in, its very competitive business but very rewarding. Creating something and seeing it on websites or in your local grocery store and seeing people around you holding something or looking at something you have designed feels great! good luck to her and by the research you have put in for her is great, she is looking to have a successful future. If she is 14 then maybe now or next year she should start getting familiar with the adobe software, knowledge of adobe indesign, photoshop and illustrator are essential skills to have when going into the industry and trying to get a job. As i mentioned before graphic design is a competitive business so skills in these types of software would make her much more equipped and prepared when starting out or being a student. Goodluck and I hope all works out =)

     
 
