RSS

Pre Ramadan Reading 1

02 Aug

clip_image002I thought I’d share a few of the things we have read as part of our getting ready for Ramadan.

Most of our reading comes from works of scholars or students of knowledge, but I ran across this newspaper article and we read this today.  I read it to all of the kids, but skipped through a lot of the financial talk.  The gist of the article was taking a look at the pre-Ramadan sales and hype, mostly in grocery stores.

When we lived in Yemen, I made the mistake of going to the grocery store on Shaban 29. It was a zoo—wall to wall people, people pushing.

Over the weekend, we took advantage of Ramadan sales at the grocery store.  We receive circulars in the mail or at the stores with great Ramadan deals.  This article as about that very topic.

You can find more Ramadan reading links at TJ Ramadan’s Library, and as we read, in sha  Allah, I’ll post links to articles that we read. For some readings, I prepare a little lesson plan or activities to help get more out of the reading and I’ll try to share those as well.  Most of the time, however, we just read and discuss.  If I can, I try to draw from other subject areas, math, Arabic, etc and really try to tie in how the article affects our lives.

 
Comments Off on Pre Ramadan Reading 1

Posted by on August 2, 2010 in Seasonal: Ramadan

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
