RSS

Getting Organized for the New School Year

04 Aug

image As usual, we’re starting another year without being where I want to be plan wise.  However, we seem to be off to a pretty good start. 

This summer, we took our first long break, 1 month. In our homeschool history, we have never taken  off that extended period of time from classes. 

This break started off as one week (we do school for 10 weeks, then a one week break, generally). Well, heading into this one week break, I really had it in my mind that it would be two weeks (I just didn’t tell the kids til the week was almost over).

Then, the two weeks turned into three, and then three into four. 

About half way through the break, I did plan out our school calendar, when we’d start and finish, in sha Allah. And I did start a little planning, but other projects I was working on took up most of my break.

Our school year this year started last Sunday, August 1, as planned.  For not having planned too much, it started off pretty well alhamdulillah.  Most of the kids did something the first day and ever since.  My 12 year old, the one I struggle with the most, hasn’t done any formal school since we started this year.  He’s my engineer and has been making cardboard creations, listening in here and there to me reading history or a news article to another sibling.

Today, I am really starting to work out the nuts and bolts about our admin, how they will turn in their work, making folders to keep their class information handy, etc.  I’m hoping once I get this worked out, in sha Allah and get a few weeks planned out, I’ll be able to turn more attention to my 12 year old.  Right now, I just try to extract out as much learning as I can from the activities that he does do.  He’s very good with visualizing the mechanics of things and then creating something amazing from them.  Then, he likes to talk about them and so we get into a little science sometimes.

Well, I had meant to talk a little about our organization, but became a little long winded, so in sha Allah in my next post, I’ll share what we’re starting out with as far as getting organized.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2010 in Homeschool Management

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Getting Organized for the New School Year

  1. Umm Carter

    August 5, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Asalamulakum, Sounds like you are off to a pretty good start, mashallah. I planned to begin schooling officially the monday following Eid al Fitr and ease into it by following your ramadan daily lessons. We moved to a new home this spring mostly so we could have a dedicated school room. Mashallah as I began planniing out the school year we got so excited that we have started doing more and more school work each day. The first day we just did the basics of our daily calendar, the next we did more. Yesterday we added on letter Q work and math cocepts we are learning, and today reviewed arabic. Inshallah,
    sometime today we will do some more math and maybe more Q work if were up to it. I really like having a very concrete plan it makes it so i can relax and thus everyone is getting more out of it.

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      August 31, 2010 at 5:21 am

      Yeah, concrete, but flexible plans (kind of sounds like an oxymoron) sure do help. May you have a wonderful “school” year.

       
  2. fouzia masood

    August 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Asalam o alikum,

    i came across your site by accident, but was very happy to find you. i am also a teacher and a teacher trainer for the early years. i will love to be of assisstance in making your homeschool even stronger.
    i am currently in pakistan and working for a prestigious school system for the past 13 years.
    regards,
    fouzia masood

     
    • talibiddeenjr

      August 31, 2010 at 5:01 am

      wa alaykum us salaam,

      Naam, I tend to have more items for older kids, would love to be able to share more materials for the younger Muslims.

       
 
