RSS

Indus Valley Civilizations–Social Studies Thursday

02 Dec

“The Indus Valley Civilization was one of the world’s first great urban civilizations. It flourished in the vast river plains and adjacent regions in what are now Pakistan and western India.” (Harappa.com)

My oldest daughter recently studied the Indus Valley civilizations. I’ve collected really helpful resources which include videos and slideshows. 

You can stop by and browse them at TJ Socials Studies’ World History Department.  I really enjoyed reading and viewing material about this civilization.

While we were studying this, I marveled at the fact that when I was in school, the main medium was the textbook, maybe some filmstrips. These days the web provides richer content which I think really helps the kids get more of a feel of what these ancient civilizations may have been like. What a great time to be homeschooling, alhamdulillah!

 
Comments Off on Indus Valley Civilizations–Social Studies Thursday

Posted by on December 2, 2010 in History-US/World/Islamic

 

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

 
