RSS

The Boy Talk

16 Jan

Today I did it, I had “the talk” with the boys….the one about puberty.

I had been wanting to do this for some time but kept putting it off. (Abu is working out of the country so it had kind of fallen on me).  I never really talked with my older son, now 18, so I wanted to make sure that I got this in with the middle boys, now 11 and 12 going on 13. 

I had the talk with my oldest daughter, 15, and well, that was easier to talk about, one reason being that well, I knew about women’s issues and bodies. It’s a little different with boys as naturally, mom doesn’t go through the things that they do.

We did more reading than talk actually, I found a great booklet and we just read through that and  intertwined Islamic information as necessary:

http://www.health.wa.gov.au/docreg/Education/Population/Youth_Health/HP010368_boys_and_puberty_booklet.pdf

I was so nervous at first and hesistant to mention certain  words, but then I told myself, my intent was to inform them about their bodies so that they can understand them, pick up on signs when something is wrong and take preventative measures and just give them information on healthy lifestyles. We talked more about their bodies, did not actually get deep into the s word (lol) but talked about it as the need came up based upon the material presented.

At first I was going to go over the informatin with each of them separately as you know how boys get, snicker and laugh at the mention of certain things. But then I thought, maybe they would feel more comfortable and not isolated if I did it together, plus I killed two birds with two stones so to speak.

So, I just thought I’d share our experience. If you need to broach this subject soon, here are a few resources that may help. Don’t forget the PDF above as well. It was really good and talked about many aspects of puberty including diet.

Over at my sister blog, Raising Muslim Sons, (or should I say brother blog) are some hoperully helpful links:

  • Puberty in Islam
  • Changes in the body due to puberty  (I have collected links to many resources online here)
  • Related:

    Girls and Puberty, the counterpart to the Boys and Puberty booklet mentioned above, can be found here:

    http://www.health.wa.gov.au/docreg/Education/Population/Youth_Health/HP010367_girls_and_puberty_booklet.pdf

     
    2 Comments

    Posted by on January 16, 2011 in Life Skills: Health/Body

     

    2 responses to “The Boy Talk

    1. palmtreegardens

      January 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Salam alaikum,
      I found your blog as I was writing a post about Muslim children and school, and was looking for more info about homeschooling Muslims. I’m a mother of three sons, and I’ll probably have to have this ‘talk’ someday too, insha Allah. I’ll certainly check out your blog about raising Muslim sons.
      Um Ismail

       
    2. Imaan

      January 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      as salaamu `alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh

      My elder daughter is 9 going on 16 :P I bought a book “The Miracle of Life:A Guide On Sex and Islamic Family Life” by Fatimah D’Oyen. It is ma shaa Allah very detailed. I have not had the talk yet but I can see that I will have to soon! Oh the questions she is already asking! It’s nice of you to share your experiences. Jazakillah khayran!

       

    Leave a Reply

         
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 737 other followers

